The Territory of Almenno is enhanced by the many monuments of Romanesque. In particular, four churches San Tome, Our Lady of the Castle, S. George and S. Nicola (Romanesque and Gothic the first three fourth) They are considered real jewels of Romanesque art, daily destination of enthusiasts who come from all parts of Italy and Europe. There is a ring connection between these four churches, a route easy to percorrereche combines the pleasure of a walk can visit monuments and places of great value.
From San Tome to Our Lady of the Castle
The Temple of San Tome is definitely the most unique and famous Romanesque church to the particular architectural, the wealth of sculptural decoration and the environmental context in which it appears. It is accessed from S.P. 175, from the parking area go walk the road from in front of the temple. The Church of San Tome, circular was built in 1150 about the foundations of a previous church. It is assumed here that in Roman times there was already a pagan temple and then went into disrepair.
Our Lady of the Castle S. Giorgio and up to S. Nicola
Situated overlooking the River Brembo an area where once stood an ancient castle now destroyed, Our Lady of the Castle is composed of 3 bodies: The crypt of the seventh and eighth centuries, the oldest and best preserved of the province of Bergamo, the oldest parish church in the late ninth century and the Sanctuary of S. Mary of the Castle of the XVI century.
The Church of St. George, the largest Romanesque church of the Diocese of Bergamo second only to the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Built in 1150 by the Bishop of Bergamo, It has the exterior facades of different masonry texture, It retains many of the most important paintings of the late 200, many frescoes and a small cemetery.
The Church of S. Nicolas was built in 1488 It preserves precious paintings such as the Trinity of the Andrea Previtali 1517 and the Holy Family by Francesco da Ponte. From the Church of S. Nicholas leads to the ancient Convent of the Friars, where you can still visit the Augustinian monks' cells and other environments, besides the beautiful cloister.
Museum Carpenter Tino Sana
Located in Almenno San Bartolomeo, This museum tells the story of a trade protagonist in the Valley Imagna JOINER. The museum is on 3 levels for a total of 3500 mq. and has operated a sawmill outside water fall.
Ancient Ice Strozza and Ethnographic Museum Valdimagnino
In the town of Strozza, in the heart of the Village of Amagno the seventeenth-century Ca 'del Maestro, It is still home to an ancient icebox, is a beautiful property of two centuries or more, remained intact.
Ancient village of Arnosto
Located in Fuipiano Imagna high valley, It is the most significant among the remaining structures on the territory valdimagnino. In ancient times it was the seat of the customs house until 1797 where he marked the border between between the Duchy of Milan and Venice. The ancient village dating back to the fourteenth century and buildings of great artistic value .
Arnosto visit is to immerse yourself in an inviting atmosphere that brings to life the populations foothills of the past.
The Valley Brunone
The Brunone Valley, High Valley imagna, It located within the municipality of Berbenno, not far from Ponte Giurino was recognized as a Natural Monument because rich paleontological, dating from the Late Triassic.